Home > RC Flight, YC-14 > Project YC-14 Power Pods

Project YC-14 Power Pods

September 4, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

I was inspired by FT’s Swappable kits to build my own power pods for the YC-14.

Now I can move my motors and ESC units from the YC to another plane very quickly.

Also means I save money and resources by not having to buy extra kit or simply having hardware slaved to 1 plane.

I like it.

So here is my take on the power pack.

2.5″ wide x 5″ long.
The actual motor will mount on a 2″x2″ section.
With the 10″ prop I have enough clearance but I’m adding landing gear anyhow.
So I opted to mount the pods under the wing vs on top.

The wing mounts are 5.5″ long and 1.75″ tall. I used 2 skewers to lock the pods in place.

I’m going to cut some vents into the sides or bottom next but the back is open allowing air movement over the ESC.

Over all I’m pleased with this change. I think it will add a level of functionality to the plane and future projects.

Some hardware for the controls. I purchased them locally and was not impressed with the prices I paid compared to the overseas stuff I can order now days. Grrr. Like supporting my local businesses but damn they need to work on their prices.
IMG_6776

10″ prop simulations. It is a little low but as mentioned I will add landing gear.
IMG_3387

Located 8.5″ from the centre of the wing.
IMG_6777

Plenty of room for an ESC and wiring.
IMG_6778

Wing mount.
IMG_6779

You get the idea. Any future planes I make will be designed to work this way.
IMG_6780

With either a wing mount for fuselage bracket.
IMG_6781

I think putting the pods under the wing makes the plane look rather nice.
IMG_6784

You can see the securing pins.
IMG_6786

I finished off the stress taping job as well.
IMG_6787

Again the pods and pins.
IMG_6788

I may add a piece of foam to the back of the wing mount to lock the pod in if I see movement.
IMG_6789

Rubber band test.
IMG_6790

Might need slightly longer ones.
IMG_6791

Rear vent of the pod.
IMG_6792

Next up controls and servos.
IMG_6794

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

