Home > RC Flight, YC-14 > Project YC-14 Black Nose

Project YC-14 Black Nose

September 7, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

My son has named the plane “The Cobra” and wants to paint it blue, green with some yellow.

Now as part of the build we used a lot of tape. So I did some spray tests. Not good results.

FliteTest did a piece on painting foam board and also talked about applying MinWax to the foam to 1. water proof it and 2. make it a lot easier to paint.

I happened to have some in the shed and went to work testing.

Oh yes. I put up 2 shelves in the “storage area” today. Now less likely trip over the big plane.

IMG_3418

The 2nd shelf is for my battery station. Tiles and an ammo box. I’ll add a fire alarm next.

IMG_3419

On to the paint. My Minwax was a little old and tinted for oak but who cares. As you can see left is untreated.

IMG_3420

So I decided to try it on the nose of the plane which I wanted matte black to 1. help in directional viewing while flying and 2. prevent over exposure with the GoPro camera.

 

IMG_3421

You can see the tint from the oak colour.

IMG_3422

Taped off and ready for paint.

IMG_3423

Letting the paint dry. Yes I used BBQ paint. I had it in the cabinet 😉

IMG_3424

I did see some wrinkles on the sides. So that tells me I put it on to thick and maybe should have let the Minwax setup a little longer.

IMG_3425

Still that is bad ass looking.

IMG_3426

Next colours will be blue, green with yellow accents as demanded by my young co-pilot.

IMG_3427

We played with the idea of doing more of the plane in matte black but decided it might look like a skink 🙂

IMG_3428

I can’t wait to go flying.  But I tell you my next plane will use less packing tape and will be air brushed.

IMG_3429

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 9, 2013 at 08:18

Leave a Reply

