Home > RC Flight, YC-14 > Project YC-14 Twin Motor Test

Project YC-14 Twin Motor Test

September 28, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

We may actually fly this plane tomorrow.

Still need to find the GC and balance the props but we will bring it out to the flying field in the morning.

Tonight my Dad who is also getting into the hobby came over to help.

He had a look at the JR radio which I felt was asking funny. The battery power port had a lose connection and the rev switches needed to be blown out.

He also came up with a landing gear idea.

I did all the servos, wiring and finished off the power pods which included adding some forward skewers to keep the pods from dipping down. Testflite idea.

Little taxi test. Landing gear did not cope so well.

On to the photos.

First job was to move the BEC on the 2nd ESC to power the cargo/fpv receiver setup.

IMG_6917

The power (red cable) is easy enough. I used a connector off an old on/off battery wire from my gas plane.

IMG_6918

I then used the end connector and wire from a computer cd/dvd audio cable. Solider it and heat shrink.

IMG_6919

Then it was time to do the 2nd power pod. Originally I went with the power pods because I figured I’d be flying other plane.

My wife sort of did not like that idea. So my plan is simple perfect this model 😉

IMG_6920

Setting up the motor. I used servo mounting hardware. Screws and brass sleeves.

IMG_6921

On wheels. My Dad came up with this.

IMG_6922

To the point. Should help with landings.

IMG_6923

Front wheel.

IMG_6926 IMG_6927

Batteries in position. I will find the GC in the am.

IMG_6928

Wing is pretty well ready for wiring.

IMG_6929

Servos all hot glued into position.

IMG_6930

We noticed the power pods were dipping down. So I did the flitetest pin trick.

IMG_6931 IMG_6932 IMG_6933

Also used numbering labels on everything. Motor/ESC 1 is the master.

IMG_6934

The wing is done.

IMG_6935 IMG_6936

Aileron and ESC wires all taped down with extensions and labels.

IMG_6937

I’m waiting on connectors to make a proper X setup for the batteries and ESC.

IMG_6938

But for now this is decent.

IMG_6939

Technically I can just disconnect the batteries and put the wing to one side.

IMG_6940

After the gear failed I came back with a thicker piece of wood.

IMG_6942

So if all goes well she may fly in the morning.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

