Home > RC Flight, YC-14 > YC-14 Dusk/Night Flight

YC-14 Dusk/Night Flight

This evening we managed 4 flights on the pair of 2200 batteries. Not to bad. Estimated 12-15 mins of flight. Still respectable comparing the plane weights well over 2KG and does not have best props on yet.

Here is a video from the flights tonight. I removed the “dash” from GoPro mount so there is a much better view.

BTW tossing the plane for the first time is interesting. A lot more power then I suspected.

James came out with me but once again the analogue tech just flat out failed. Poor guy just wants to drop bombs.

As soon as I got to altitude both the belly pod and cargo ramp opened! So I’ve removed the old rx setup and put the 2 servos onto the 5 and 6 controls on the 2.4 radio I’ve borrowed from a friend.

James will get another shot on Saturday.

Over all the night flying is interesting.

Photos will explain the changes I made.

IMG_3744

Landing at night is tough. Hard on the landing gear.

IMG_3745

In fact lost a wheel.

IMG_3746

Onto the changes. I’m happy with the balance to the old upper batter shelf can come out but I needed

to add a wall the keep the cargo contained.

IMG_3747

Just tapped in while I test.

IMG_3748

Swapped the white and blue lights. Not conventional but prefer the bright lights lead the way.

IMG_3749

White on the nose + longer skewers for the GoPro mount.

IMG_3750

The other $Store light. Sooner or later I’ll hardwire them in.

IMG_3751

Wing tip. 2 lights just made the plane a lot easier to view and now they both point out to the side.

IMG_3752

Red.

IMG_3753

The paradude kept getting stuck. I suspect it was the wire for the ramp. This may help?

IMG_3754

I want a light in there so I can see while flying.

IMG_3755

New landing gear setup.

IMG_3756

Will have to adjust the nose gear or trim the wood down. I’ll test it on a landing first.

IMG_3757

All lite up.

IMG_3758

I think that will do the trick.

IMG_3762

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

