Home > RC Flight > Micro Tiger Moth Motor Replacement.

Micro Tiger Moth Motor Replacement.

October 12, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

A few weekends ago the Tiger Moth’s motor died.

They are brushed motors so this is to be expected. I order a replacement from my local store.

IMG_7063

Here it is from Flyzone and the annoyingly high stick price.

IMG_7064

First thing you have to is open the plane up. Since I’ve done a few repairs already this was not an issue.

IMG_7065

I did go a lot further back this time so I could open the frame up a touch more to work exposing the motor and transmission.

IMG_7066

Receiver and mini servo setup. Notice the prop motor disconnect towards the back.

IMG_7067

I did have to cut the wire to the motor because it ran under the board and I did not want to solder inside the plane.

IMG_7068

New motor and wires all setup.

IMG_7069

I did run the wire a little different. Due to the wire not being able to pass under the radio rx.

IMG_7070

I did notice while flying it may have been a touch tail heavy so I may move the connector forward.

IMG_7072

Dab of glue to lock the wires down.

IMG_7073

But ready for a test run.

IMG_7075

Everything worked well.

IMG_7078

Sunday morning. We had a very successful flight.

IMG_3859   IMG_3864

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

