Home > RC Flight, YC-14 > YCR-14 “R” is for Recon

YCR-14 “R” is for Recon

October 16, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well not really but it is funny.

So the new nose graph job went as planned. Did not alter the CG to much to be honest.

A little nose heavy but I can balance it out a touch more.

I had planned to make the new nose removable but that was before I learned a new trick this evening.

How to roll foam board into a round tube. This changes everything.

I’m now thinking about a whole new air frame. Maybe a B17?

On to the photos.

The video on youtube called this the gut roll. Yep a bar, foam and your belly.

It worked for me but damn hard on my ribs heh.

IMG_7103

Still the results are very exciting.

IMG_7104

I’m going to try and form a few sections and we shall see about making a proper air frame.

IMG_7105

Blow out photo but see they are more or less the same dimension.

IMG_7106

Just the round one will naturally perform better.

IMG_7107

Onto the YCR operation. Cut and removed the old nose.

IMG_7108

Cleaned out inside/forward bulk head.

IMG_7110

Lots of damage in there 😉

IMG_7111

On of the things I wanted to correct with the YC was landing gear. I want to taxi. So I made up a shaft.

IMG_7112

The servo attached to the rudder via Y connector.

IMG_7113

As I said I had planned to make the nose removable but changed my mind. Glued it all in place.

IMG_7114

Had to patch up a few holes.

IMG_7115

So there we go. I will make the top of the nose removable so I can access the GoPro.

IMG_7116

Will most likely paint it black again as well. Find it helps me with the direction of the plane.

IMG_7118

I will add some post board to help with the air flow over the nose as well.

IMG_7120

And I was able to steer the plane. Hooray.

IMG_7121

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

