Home > AJR-48, RC Flight > AJR-48 Tail Heavy

AJR-48 Tail Heavy

November 16, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

It seems I can’t get away from this problem.

Todays test flight reviled that I had my CG all wrong and the plane was very ill handling because of the tail heavy issue.

On the first take off I was at the end of the runway when I flicked on the flaps which put the plane nose up but it was horrible uncontrollable. Resulting in a very poor landing.

On the 2nd take off attempt we removed the egg load but then noticed one of the landing gear had come off.

I removed the other and did a hand toss.

In flight I found the plane to be very pitchy from side to side and when the power was pulled back the tail heavy issue showed up again.

Landing was brutal I tried to bring it in gently but stalled out and dipped my right side wing.

– The AJR-48 minus the main landing gear.

IMG_7615

– The right wing took a big hit on the first landing attempt.

IMG_7616

– Scoring along the mid section. This is the part of the wing which is not doubled up.

IMG_7617

– Nose section is creased.

IMG_7618

– I’m removing the landing gear and keeping it off. Tired of this fight.

IMG_7619

– Top section took some damage but the paint process may have played into this.

IMG_7620

– So if I’m tail heavy the batteries will need to come as far forward as possible.

IMG_7621

– Will remove the tail gear tonight as well.

IMG_7622

Batteries will more or less lay down.

IMG_7623

– I will have it ready for a flight tomorrow.

IMG_7624

– Another picture of the right wing damage.

IMG_7626

-Left is ok.

IMG_7627

– The bomb pod is coming off for the next series of test flights.

IMG_7628

– Another picture of the nose section.

IMG_7629

– I will build a cap that goes in place of the bay doors.

IMG_7630

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

