Home > AJR-48, RC Flight > AJR-48 Lives On

AJR-48 Lives On

November 18, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

I found inspiration today. And also some technical knowledge which showed me my errors.

Swappable B25 Mitchell Twin-Engine Bomber showed up on Flitetest today.

It like mine is based off the FT Spitfire but has a 60″ wing span, 30″ length and 2″ fuselage width.

I also talked to someone who owns a bought B-25 which has a 57″ wingspan and the fuselage is 3.75″ wide.

Meaning my plane was a flying bus with stubby wings.

So this design is not dead yet. Seeing the swappable B-25 makes me want to rebuilt the Bristol Bomber for sure and this time paint it green.

I ran out and tested would a 60″ wing span work in the car?

YES it will!

IMG_4107 IMG_4108 IMG_4110 IMG_4111

I then check to see what space I need to run 2 3S 2200 cells. Both example only run a single 3S but I find 2 gives me balance.

But to run 2 cells side by side (Zippy compact 2200’s) requires a width of 3 1/8″. That is manageable.

It does mean running tighter tolerances on everything and less protection but the gear has proven it is touch.

IMG_4112

It does mean the bomb pod is going to change from a 2×2 configuration to a 1×4 possibly a 1×3 if x4 is to long for the body that is only 30″.

Lets get building!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

