Home > AJR-48, RC Flight > AJR-48 Slim Chance

AJR-48 Slim Chance

November 30, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tonight I had my first winter flight experience.

Testing the AJR-48 in single prop config. Glad the snow was soft because the tail heavy issue is still present.

So I went radical on the plane.

– Time to perform an operation and lose some weight in the tail section.

IMG_7814

– I removed as much as I could while trying to keep some of the strength.

IMG_7816

– Pretty big chuck of foam gone.

IMG_7817

– Removed the metal rudder servo and put in a 15g eco one.

IMG_7818

– Wide power pod also was trimmed down. Removed the whole bottom section.

IMG_7820

– A lot tighter but manageable.

IMG_7821

– At least I know it will land in snow with no issues.

IMG_7823

– It is indeed a lot lower now.

IMG_7824

– I think the centre foam bit is a touch to big but need belly surface.

IMG_7829

– I hope this fixes the tail heavy issues and returns some power.

IMG_7833

I may alter the power pod yet to move the battery even more forward.

IMG_7835

– 550g lighter.

IMG_7836

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

